cash money

Long story short, about 10 minutes before I walked out of my apartment in Korea for the last time and jumped on a bus for Guam, I realized that my bank transfer I had done a few days prior hadn’t gone through, so ALL of my money was still in korean won in my korean bank account. I frantically ran down to the ATM and tried to withdraw it all, but to my dismay, there was no way to get larger bills so I ended up with millions of won in 10,000 bills. So. Much. Stress. I had no choice but to throw it into my backpack and head for the airport! Later that week, Andrew and I decided to have some fun with all the money, and so we had a little photoshoot. It was such a hilarious way to loosen up and remember that even the most stressful situations can still turn out for good, even if it’s just a silly few minutes, some good laughs, and strange photos that we’ll probably look back on in 10 years and shake our heads. So today, when it’s gloomy, when we feel distant and lonely, when Guam feels especially far away, and when it feels like A is n e v e r going to return home, I pulled up these photos and remembered to laugh!

DSC_0483DSC_0482

DSC_0479 DSC_0476

DSC_0481 DSC_0475

Sidenote — in learning to hold loosely to the things of this world, right after these pictures we drove to the airport to exchange the money into US dollars, and the exchange rate was the worst it’s been all year…. I won’t even tell you how much money I essentially “lost,” but after a few f-bombs and a venting session on the matter, this is pretty much how I felt about it:

DSC_0487 DSC_0486 DSC_0484

the aftermath of the ”rain”

DSC_0488

let’s all remember to loosen up and laugh today, yeah? #cashmoney

Leave a Reply

