great faithfulness

sometimes it’s good to turn around from the rigidity of schedules. sometimes it’s good to break from routine.

sometimes it’s necessary.

this weekend was weighty with sorrow and the heaviness of fellow-feeling the burdens of beloved suffering friends. yesterday the week began and I already felt defeated. so tonight, i dropped my pen and shut my notebook and ran outside, my messy mangled hair streaming behind me as i tried to chase the sunset. it’s pink glowing beams were peeking through my kitchen window as i’ve been trying to write the past few hours, not allowing myself to sit and watch the beauty sinking behind the trees.  finally, i threw momentary discipline out the window and had to run after it. I didn’t catch any amazing photos, because by the time I grabbed my coat and turned off my kitchen lights (saving energy!) and got to a clearing where the trees open to clear sky, the pink turned red streaks were just sinking from the sky, giving way to night. still, i laughed at the thought of my hammering feet as i ran down the sidewalk and my cup of tea growing cold at my kitchen table. i only missed about 9 minutes of writing time, but I had gained so much: a fresh complexion from the evening chill on my cheeks, laughter at the spectacle I must have just made of myself to the cars and runners passing by me, but peace and refreshing in my mind and heart.

as i chased the sunset, the verse from this famous hymn was running through my mind:

summer and winter and springtime and harvest/
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above,/
Join with all nature in manifold witness/
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

and when I walked back home, smiling at the sound of crunching golden leaves under my feet, I thought:

Did we in our own strength confide, our striving would be losing;
Were not the right Man on our side, the Man of God’s own choosing:
Dost ask who that may be? Christ Jesus, it is He;
Lord Sabaoth, His Name, from age to age the same,
And He must win the battle.

Daily He wins the battle for us, and both during and afterward… we get to sing with all nature in manifold witness!
so friends, every so often, permit yourself to draw blank the schedule, break from the stacks of papers, look away from the tapping cursor on your computer screen. swing wide the door and run towards the Lord Sabaoth, the Lord of the Harvest. allow breaks from rigid routine that allow for your wondering heart to be filled with His goodness. chase the radiant red sunsets, tread the carpets of golden leaves, refresh lungs with the brisk November winds. His gifts are soul-reviving and heart-sustaining.

love, and sing, and wonder.
xx

~k

IMG_2127 photo 1

Leave a Reply

