Come.

Lately I’ve been deeply encouraged by the lyrics found in old hymns. On Sunday we sang Come, Ye Sinners — beautiful words with the beauty of the Gospel threaded throughout. 

Thinking about the Gospel has brought me to see God’s hand of favor that is ever present in my life. I’m in awe of His goodness. Spring Break last week couldn’t have been more timely, more refreshing. Times when I experience the deepest joys are times when I am able to reflect and look back over time- my meager, weak and often faithless life is such a testimony to His faithfulness. It was very special to spend time with Jesus in the same places where He began this journey I’m currently walking on. Over Christmas Break, God started to knock down some walls in my heard heart, and though it has been a little painful at times, He has been gracious, gentle and loving as my sin is exposed and He opens the floodgates of grace to cleanse me. I look back and see how He has never left or forgotten me, that He is for me. I could stop there, that would be enough… YET He is continually at work to make me new. Over, and over, and over again. For this kind of love I can’t stop praising! 

His mercy knows no end… and the greatest part about this truth is that He offers Himself to us fully, all we have to do is approach Him – need Him. and need Him, I desperately do. 

enjoy these words…

Come, ye sinners, poor and wretched,
Weak and wounded, sick and sore;
Jesus, ready, stands to save you,
Full of pity, joined with power. 
He is able, He is able; 
He is willing; doubt no more. 

Come ye needy, come, and welcome;
God’s free bounty glorify;
True belief and true repentance, 
Every grace that brings you nigh.
Without money, without money,
Come to Jesus Christ and buy.

Come, ye weary, heavy laden, 
Bruised and broken by the fall;
If you tarry ’til you’re better, 
You will never come at all. 
Not the righteous, not the righteous;
Sinners Jesus came to call. 

Let not conscience make you linger;
Nor of fitness fondly dream;
All the fitness He requires
Is to feel your need of Him.
This He gives you, this He gives you, 
‘Tis the Spirit’s rising beam.  

Lo! The Incarnate God, ascended;
Pleads the merit of His blood,
Venture on Him, venture wholly,
Let no other trust intrude.
None but Jesus, None but Jesus
Can do helpless sinners good.

Thankful. 

Leave a Reply

