Radical, part II.

As I wrote a few days ago, I would continue the thought about how I occasionally experience this sort of “restlessness;” a desire to clean and re-design and refurbish my room- then it penetrates to a deep desire to work harder at setting my life towards a deeper dimension. I’ve set some goals to meet before Christmas, most of them inspired by this restlessness, and it makes me want to live them out radically.

Perhaps one of the greatest contributors to this desire to live my life more radically is a man by the name of Bob Goff. Maybe you’ve heard of him, he wrote a book called Love Does. A good friend of Donald Miller, I first heard about him from Miller’s book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. I was struck by Miller’s depiction of Goff’s wild crazy unconditional love for people. Especially how he expresses this love.

The other day I was reading about Goff in a magazine, and came across the article called “10 Ways to Live an Extraordinary Life.” Immediately I thought of my best friend’s motto she had printed on her wall, “Live Ordinary Life Extraordinarily:” a mantra I found inspiring for so long. So, from Goff’s field notes from a life well lived, here are some- but not all- of these extraordinary, radical ways of loving. I hope to already be living these out to some extent. After reading this article, coupled with my great clean-sweep I had the other day, I’ve been deeply moved and more motivated to strive after tough love. Deep love. Crazy love. Radical love.

Not just because I’m an RA and I’m paid to love 26 girls. Not just because I feel guilty if I don’t. But because I’m made to. I’m made to follow after and imitate the greatest Love there is! Here are a few lessons I took away from Goff’s article. The man is ridiculous!

#2. Don’t make appointments.
This is where Goff and I are quite similar. I pop in and out of the girl’s rooms and catch up with them, I text them at 2 asking to grab a meal with them at 5, and if they want to meet with me, I keep my door open and have kept conversations flowing in and out of room 338 until 2am sometimes. I don’t say all of this to tell you how great of an RA I am, because I am incredibly walking in the dark and fumbling around in this position, many times feeling extremely inadequate. Goff’s thinking behind this method is that when “your life is appointment-free, your time is at the service of of others instead of your personal demands. Plus, you become a different person when you structure your life around other’s needs.”
Oh- that pierced through the heart.

#3. Be incredibly inefficient at love.
Don’t do an efficient brand of love,” Goff says. He goes on to tell a story about how he bought he and his neighbor dying of cancer walkie-talkies so he could keep in constant communication like they’re “both 14-year-olds and we’re both in tree forts.” He continues, “Be inefficient with your love. The more inefficient, the better. It would have been a lot more efficient for God to not send Jesus to die for us. That was very inefficient love. But so sweet and so tender.”
What a challenge. What a calling I have to love like crazy because of how much I have been loved!

#6. Do what you’re made to do.
I know I am not “made” to be a great leader, it’s just not my personality. And yet I signed up to lead a whole floor! Today’s question is often, “What am I able to do?” Truthfully, I don’t think I’m actually able to be this kind of leader. Personality test results tell me I work way better in the background, behind the scenes, but Goff says the better question is, “‘What am I MADE to do?’ It’s as simple as asking, ‘What are the things you think are beautiful? And you want in your life?’ …And then there’s other stuff you stink at, and they cause you a bunch of stress. I just try and do more of the first and lest of the second.”
So simple, right? So freeing. Never more motivating to just be who I am. 

#9. Crowd-surf each other. 
At a speaking event, Goff met a man who just received word that his 8-year old son had been diagnosed with leukemia. Instead of following the suggestion of laying hands on this man to pray for him, Goff decided to crowd surf the man. Instead of the guy in row 50 laying hands on the guy in row 49 and not the guy actually being prayed over, the man was passed up and down the rows of the auditorium. This picture of both agony and delight is crazy beautiful to me. “Let’s stop treating this faith like it’s a business trip. I want us to treat it like it’s a family. Family picks up the phone. Family surfs each other. Family hugs each other.” The benefit of breaking through these bubbles of security is being opened up to a deeper understanding of community.
How am I striving to live this one out? Convicting.

The complete article was found in Relevant Magazine. Highly encourage you to check it out, Google some stuff about Goff, look up his book. I guarantee you any slice of his life will penetrate yours, as it did mine! My hope is that this has motivated you, and will resonate with you ever so deeply to go out and just love love love.
Always, thanks for reading.
Image

Leave a Reply

